Some after thoughts about N96.

Hello!

It’s been a while , really long while.. But I assume you can guess from the previous post what I have had in my mind. 😉 And the same little reason kept me away for a while before too.

After using Nokia N96 for about 10 months, I have to say that all in all the experince was pleasant. There were no major problems during this time and some of the encountered problems were self caused. LEt me get together my feeling and thoughts about the N96:

It never failed to deliver what I was after when I got the phone. The DVB-H feature was something I did not think I was going to use that much, especially since there were not too many channels available at the time of aquiring the device, but I ended up watching news while on bus etc. I also found myself watching random video clips with it, but honestly the screen is too small for full feature film..

I used the phone as my phone, sms and mms machine as well as my posrtable camera. I took approximately 100-150 photos per month and I was happy with the photo quality. Also the GS receiver was working well. I used Nokia Maps and Google Maps for navigating around and Latitude to shout out my location to registered friends. I used the Sports Tracker to track my bicycle routes as well as walkngi and car trips, really good for all of these.

For email and internet browsing I used N96 as a bluetooth modem for Nokia N810 which I still like a lot. It is exceptional tool for these uses! With lots of apps available one can customize it to suit almost any needs. ..as long as you remember what the hardware is capable of.

There are few downsides too.. The keyboard felt bit slippery and feel is not that good. the feel got better over time, but still. Also when I had the phone in my jeans pocket, the phone would slide open and start doing weird things by itself. 🙂

Also the screen was getting swcratches too easily, but they are minor and will be easy to get rid off with little paste and polish. 🙂

Now I have moved on to N97 and have E71 as the work phone. I will write something about them, about available software for the devices as well as do comparisons that are mindless, are not relevant and just make no sense in opinion of many people. But still, I compare them to what I have gotten used to and what I have used previously. N-series and E-series phones ahave different focus, but lot of people use both and get one after another et cetera.

So, bye for now and I will get back to this soon!

D-Ma