Facebook app errors on Nokia N97

I posted earlier about the problem with Facebook app on N0kia N97 . Especially the connection problems involving WLAN. This change of network connection is in most cases, at least for me it has been, the cause of all of the Facebook app errors. At first my solution was to simply switch off the handset.

Now I have been doing something bit more time consuming, but it is nicer than to have to turn off the phone completely and wait it to restart. I simply remove the Facebook app from the start screen. Just turning it off and on again through task manager does not help. And if this does not help either, close Accuweather or any other “always online” app you have on at the time or on your start page/screen. Then wait a sec and restrat all you need to have on and re-attach the apps you need on your start screen. Microsoft Exchange does NOT have to be shut down even if it’s on real time settings! Weird but true.

For me this has helped and even though it is still a pain in the ass, it is way lesser pain to do this than restart the whole device. I have only Accuweather and Facebook app runnign all the time, I just occasionally start my Twitter app and shut it down again. I do have Exchange mailbox running on all the time for the better part of the day.

I hope this helps. If not, let me know what did the trick for you, if you find out!

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

3 Responses to Facebook app errors on Nokia N97

  1. greg says:

    hey ive had the same problems so i reformated my n97 then my facebook worked for the full day until now, and ive tried what u wrote above and still it gives me the same error. :((
    what can i do now?

  2. dobermann says:

    I started to get problems again with the app and above did not help.

    I ended up taking FB app off the front and re-starting the device and later started FB app again.

    So many people are having problems with it that I wonder if there is new updated version available soon? Well, probably not. 😛 We just have to wait and hope.

    Right now I am using the m.facebook.com through the browser. I can “like” statuses and see the notifications. Even though it is not as nice to looka at and at times annoying to use, at least it does not mess up my phone!!

  3. jack says:

    hi i also have this problem i havent spoke to anyone else with the phone but i leave my facebook and accu weather off so there not on my front screen and i just access them one at a time through the apps this works fine i dont think the phone can handle constant updates on the front screen

Leave a Reply

