Nokia N97 and the Facebook app

So now I found something really annoying. It’s not the phone itself, but piece of software, widget app to be precise. The Facebook app is quite nice, even though it lacks the possibility to “like” someone’s status. I have encountered connection problems that are now driving me mad after a while of just annoying me.

Whenever I spend long periods of time connected to a WLAN, for example at home or at work, and leave the Facebook app goes berserk. It tries to connect to the previously lost WLAN. No other connection is good enough for the app, even though 3G is available. Only way to correct this and make Facebook app to connect back to 3G network is to shut down the device and restart. Lately this has been rather unsuccessful trick: whenever I have turned off the device after Facebook trying to stubbornly connect to now gone WLAN, the phone has reseted itself. This means I need to re-set the time, date, connections and app settings for many of the apps. This is very, very annoying.

I did uninstall the Facebook app and re-install it and not there has been only minor problems, like unknown errors. Yes, it prompts me “Unknown error occurred” and re-starts Facebook app..

I am about to go back using the Facebook mobile page with the browser after all. I can “like” people’s statuses as well as do everything else. Have to see if new version of this app is available sometime soon and if it’s any better..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

6 Responses to Nokia N97 and the Facebook app

  1. howardtech says:

    I noticed the same problem. Lets hope they update the Facebook app so we don’t have to keep restarting the phone just to get Facebook to work.

    • dobermann says:

      Yup, it feels a bit dumb. The thing is the app is yelling about the lost wlan over and over again making using the phone pretty impossible.

      I ended up with a frozen phone by Facebook app and had to re-install it yet again. Now I am forced to use only the 3G for all of the apps to avoid this. Which sucks big time, since even though I have fixed deal on my 3G data, I would like to use the faster wlan when available..

  2. Felix says:

    Seriously I feel cheated too!!

  3. Felix says:

    if that doesnt work this is what I did go to
    https://store.ovi.com/ from ur N97 click on facebook and reinstall.. that should do fine

    • dobermann says:

      As I stated in the post, I did uninstall and re-install the app and I am still having the same problems I had before..

      It is working now and then though.. 😉

Leave a Reply

