More about Nokia N96

Undortunately I fucked up the photo transfer from memory card to laptop and lost 20 pics of the gadget. I will try to take time and snap some more photos so I can post a photo post around here.

More experiences with the phone:

– Flickr & OVI: It’s awesome to have ready interface for uploading media to these services. I have a button in camera to send MMS, email or for example to online services. Excellent!

– Camera: the possibility to have GPS info in the photo is nice. I haven’t checked it yet, but I heard that Flickr can automatically position the photo right in the Flickr map. 🙂 The photo quality is great for a phone. It is good enoguh to get nice looking quick snaps here and there and especially I like the night program. The photos look like photos not like they were taken with old web-cam….

– Nokia Maps: why the hell this device has the older version of the NokiaMaps?! It is just the version that did not work in my E90 and is not working too well in my new N96.. For example I was out with the dogs for night’s walk and it could not connect to satellites during the walk. Ok, it was short walk, but I expect ANY GPS device to connect in 25min, in fact I expect the device to connect within times LESS than 5min no matter what. I was able to connect twice when I got the phone, but after that not.. I even tried around the same palce so the location is within 2km from the place I shut the program previously. Sucks. I was expecting N96 to have NokiaMaps 2.0 since I upgraded to it with my E90 a while (long while) ago. THere’s no software update aof any kind available for N96.

This GPS problem is really big disappointment since the phone came with 1yr free Scandinavia/Nordic navigating license. Not much use for that if the GPS is not working properly.. THing is that I MIGHT buy the license again after this trial expires if I had even decent experiences with it. I would not mind to have navigation software that’s not too accurate on car navigation but that would help me a bit when walking as a tourist in unfamiliar city.. I hope there’s update to NokiaMaps 2.0 available soon or I will probably forget the whole thing and go looking for a compact TomTom or Garmin unit.

Problems like these are not good for the felling and experience of the device. Otherwise (until now) I have been really happy with the phone, everything is working well and better than I expected. However because of  this GPS problem, since it’s the same with SECOND device in a row, I feel it’s only nice phone and not excellent even thought it should feel 100%…

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

One Response to More about Nokia N96

  1. JonhT. says:

    Im a long time Garmin eTrex Legend user. Was a holdout on buying a color, talking GPS for the car (“What’s wrong w/ the good old eTrex?”). But having bought one, and recently field tested on a week long trip to downtown Houston, I’m sold. I love it. The one tweek I had to make was to replace the “car” icon with a more standard arrow (I could never tell which direction the car was pointing; I run the GPS w/ North up). The icon was easily replaced w/ a download from the Garmin site.

Leave a Reply

