Where have I been?

Well, I have been bit busy and really tired for the past few weeks. It’s september and it was again time to start a new semester. I still do work at the same time and have all the other things to do, so it has been a constant battle. But I think I’m finding the balance, slowly but surely..

Yes, the car crash did take it’s toll too, in many ways. I spent time trying to figure out what type of car I should go for and ended up going “smart”. Since we’re going to move to UK next fall, I decided to get a car that was as new and fuel efficient as possible, but still have enough room for all of us. This meant it had to be stationwagon.. I ended up getting a newish (still 7yrs younger than the previous!) Renault Megane stw. Funny enoguh the engine is about half the size of the Omega’s engine, but since the car is small and relatively light, it’s not that slow even though it’s no rocket. Let’s say that it’s performance is enough to keep me from crying behind the wheel.. 😉 I was tempted to go for bit more expensive and luxurious ride, but I have to keep in mind I should try to save as much money as possible for the UK move and year.

I am most likely going to get close to what I paid for the Renault when I sell it and I theught it was no use to buy the “moving/traveling car” yet. There were not too many too choose from this time and I assume there will be domething right available during the next 11 months. I am looking at a car/van/mini-van/truck that would be comfy for two people and two dogs with our luggage when we’re driving close to 3000miles. It has to have rating for a trailer that can haul some stuff there and back, plus some extra capability for the extra stuff comingback.. Currently I am thinking about Chevy conversion van (“Starcraft”), Suburban or similar. Ford Excursion is way too big for the need and it’s too expensive on top of that.. Sure enough I prefer turbo diesel engine for towing and longer trips. There also should be the obvious accessories/stuff, like AC, towing kit, roof rails, etc..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

