Wrap up of my initial experiences with Nokia E90 Comunicator

I have now been using my new phone few days and I think I have a good idea if it works for me..

I am more familiar with the keyboard layout and the new buttons besides the screen. E90 has two per side, “general” buttons on right and red + green on left. They are easy to use, when I remember how they are, but I still sometimes look for four buttons from the right.. Also the differences in the key positions (dot, questionmark and so on) are confusing at times, especially when I’m writing longer texts quickly. But I know I will get used to them as I got used to the 9500 keyboard.

The navi software feels nice, not excellent, but nice. It is good enough for the use I have for it and I might buy the route planning thingie, if the price is right. Yes, I still have not bothered to check the price. The Nokia Sports Tracker software is priceless! I have been playing with it a bit and I will definately use it to number of things: something usefull and “real” as well as just to have fun with it. I also have started to use the Wellness Diary software, not as a serious athlete but more because I am curious. I have been recording my daily weight (have weighted myself at the same time of day in similar conditions), sleep times and exercising times. You can “grade” your sleep quality (-1 to 2) and the intensity of workout (easy to hard/heavy) and view everything as numbers, tables or graphs. Been very entertaining and informative. I have been thinking about taking a step-meter with me everyday and then record those and also the approximate calories per day. I know, it will start as harmless curiosity and then develop into obsession, but I think this is lot healthier than most of the other obsessions. 😉

I have been taking only few photos with the E90 and have been really happy with the outcome. It is no means a real camera, but a little extra to phone. It’s the best quality phone camera I have owned so far and probably the best one I have used. Really something else, despite the few flaws. I have also noticed that those flaws are somethigh I am learning to avoid, so they are more characteristics you have to know about. I am talking about the confused auto-focus, camera deciding by itself not to take a photo time to time so I have to re-try and click.

The lack of fax is still something that’s bothering me, but I am still able to handle my on-the-road fax needs with another phone. In fact I decided to keep my 9500 for now as my mobile fax on top of few other uses. I have couple pieces of software that are not available for S60 platform E90 and I use them. I also use the 9500 for navigating since I have the Navicore Personal software and the bluetooth GPS unit. Sounds stupid, but since I do have a messenger bag with me lot of times when I’m on the road and “on-duty”, having them with me is not that big deal.

It’s still not the perfect phone, not even the perfect business phone, but it’s as close as it gets for me at the moment. I haven’t tried everything there is available, but I really don’t need to. I don’t want to sped my time looking for the ultimate gadget for something that is more important than the gadget itself. And as I mentioned earlier, this is the first Nokia phone I am happy with after the good old Nokia 6110/6150 phones back in the 90’s. Why? After them this is the only one that has not frozen, jammed or acted up on me. DOn’t make me start with the 7110 and the “what-ever-it-was-called” first Nokia camera phone.. And the problems I had with 9500 for the first year I owned the piece. Too much Microsoftish stuff going on, I say. I hope Nokia has caught more Appleish things than just the sleeker design than before. 😉

D-Ma

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

