Nokia E90 Communicator and navigation

Today we drove to Salo, Finland from Vantaa, Finland. It was 110km total and it took just over 1hour 10minutes. I did try the navigation software yesterday and did notice that the route planner is not working like I thought. You can give the start point as GPS position (ie. current position), as address, select from list or from map. You can select destination like the start point, minus the current GPS position, of course. It gives you the route instructions that are very clear (Mannerheimintie 134m and left turn to.. and so on) and turnings are marked as arrows. That would be good instruction as printed too! The problem is that to have the line on map you have to purchase the extra service. I did know there were these extras that are not free, but this made me think. Is this going to be service you buy for a period of time or can I pay a fee that will give me the navigation thing available “forever”? I know I will find this information if I look for it, but at the moment I haven’t had the time or didn’t feel it was something I had to find out right away.

So, I did try the Nokia Sports Tracker yesterday for about 10km route and then again today for the Salo trip. I did record the drives and did really like the software. I did then export the routes to KML files that can be viewed in Google Earth. I will post them available for you to see when I have done more research with the software. 😉 The Tracker does trach the route as a line which you can view with other stats of the tracked route or “exercise” as the software calls them. It does record the top speed spot and highest point (from sea level) for the Google Earth and in the phone you can look at graps like speed vs. time and speed vs. distance. I find this very usefull for bicycle trips for exmple. And you can come up with all other uses for it! Very nice piece of software that is simple to use and works like a charm! I am very happy with it!

I did also try the GPS as a “tourist” last night, like Dave asked in comment couple posts ago. I was wearing baggish jeans and a hoodie while I was walking the dogs. The jeans front pockets are quite deep and I did have the phone in my right front pocket for a while and then checked the position and put the phone back in my pocket. It did lose the connection to the satellites and left the tracking spot where it had connection last time. It took few seconds to re-connect and find current position, but always closer to 5 seconds than 10 seconds. Anyway, even 10 – 15 seconds would be reasonable time if you’re not in a hurry. I also tried this in my hoodie front pockets, yet again it was the right side (if it matters?) pocket. The E90 did lose the satellites yet again after a while, but did recover bit faster. This makes me suspect that in this pocket it still reaches a satellite or two ones. ? I did keep the phone in the pockets for 3-4 minutes at a time, so I suspect that longer you have the phone away from satellites, the longer the recovery will take. I wil try this one more later.

All in all I am still happy with the phone. It has been functioning well and feels lot like the 9500, but bit better. The sound quality in call is bit better than with 9500, but not nearly as good as with my Samsung 540. On the other hand E90 is still connected to netork in places where the Z540 lost it’s network. I will be experimenting with this later when I get to a place where some people have reception and some don’t.. Yes, it’s one corridor at our B-wing at school 😉

I have been playing with the phone so much that today I ran almost out of battery. I got home just in time when there was only one line/block left in the battery indicator. I’m not worried because I have been heavy user with WLAN, bluetooth, GPS and camera for the past two days. And every time I had wireless connection, I was trasferring “crap”.

I decided to get good bluetooth HF set for this one, but it’s not on top of my “go get!” list. More importnt will be car/plane charger. I do have gazillion Nokia home and car chargers, but in these new phones the jack is about half the size of the old ones. Sure I could get adapter, but I feel that it’s pointless when I can get proper car/plane charger in bargain price anyway, compared to the adapter. I might still get the adapter and have it in my wallet, pocket or laptop case for those times when I desperately need charging and for some reason don’t have my own cgarger with me. In Finland it’s 99,5% chance that someone has Nokia charger with them or around. 😉

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

2 Responses to Nokia E90 Communicator and navigation

  1. Dave says:

    That is a pity about it not working in the pocket. I was hoping that I could walk around & at the end of the day find out where I had been by downloading the log. Looks like I would have to carry it around in my hand all day!

    My wife has the N95 – I bought it for her so I could play with the GPS until my E90 arrives. 🙂 It seems to log fine in the car with the phone sitting on the passenger seat, but the slide has to be open to expose the antenna area. In closed mode it will work but only outside with clear sky view.

  2. dobermann says:

    in car, phone open, my E90 could stay in touch with satellites, but the log did have few jumps. I had sunroof half way open though and front windows about 3/4 down..

    A friend of mine told that N95 has slightly better GPS receiving, but he has his phone in belt case and has been mostly been on bicycle..

Leave a Reply

