Quick (?) updates

MY NEW CAMERA – Canon EOS 400d

I’ve been fooling around with my new camera and I have made few observations:

– The built-in flash is just as bad as one can expect. It is better than few I’ve seen, but sadly nowhere near as good as I had in my EOS300 (?) film camera. It is still better than in most compacts and does work well enough for shots indoors. I added new flash to my wishlist among all othe accessories I want. 😉

– The camera body is bit too petit for my hands and I don’t even have shovels. Sure my motorcycle glove size is L, but I concider my hands as normal, average male hands. 🙂 The best thing abotu the frame is that even though it could be bit larger, I can get a good and solid grip and it is light! I still will be looking at the battery-grip.

– The battery life seems to be quite good! I have shot around 150 frames, about half with flash and there’s still juice. In fact the batteryseems to be still full. These photos were taken during last two days.. I did charge the battery when I first opened the box.

– The lense seems to be better than I expected. I didn’t have high expectations on the KIT lense, but maybe that is the reason why I am so happy with it. It’s good enoguh for my really rusted photography skills…..

All in all I am happier every time I do take photos with the new camera. There’s lot of camera for long time for me and it’s size and weight makes it easy to carry around with me, I just need a camera backpack or waistbag.. Or both in one? Mountainsmith seems to have one model available. It’s not full blown camerabackpack, it’s rather a backpack with camera waitsbag that installs inside as a camera pocket. Kewl..

EXERCICING

Oh yes, I have been busy. I have been to gym every day this year and will have day off tomorrow or on saturday. I decided to add some cardio to my excisting routine, just to get myself in better shape for next summer and cycling. I bought a decent bicycle couple years ago and unfortunately haven’t had time to use it much. Now I decided I will start cycling as much as I can.. Yes, that’s why I need to get my windpipe and breathing bags in better shape.. 😉

DOGGIES

Kainu is not too happy to be back in the city after spending long weekend at the cabin with my dad. This includes the disliking of leash, bad behaviour on leash and over all unhappiness about being at home. Well, we had our neighbor here with her dog on new year and Kainu does not like that dog at all. ..and now HIS home smells like OTHER dog. Damn it!! Klementina on the other hand is her usual self, happy and just living every second as it comes..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

5 Responses to Quick (?) updates

  1. Andrew B says:

    Hi, I just acquired a Canon EOS 400D.

    Re bags, I am looking at Lowepro Slingshot. It is a kind of one strap rucksack which you can slide round to waist position for access to your gear. Seems a clever idea.

  2. dobermann says:

    Thanks for the tip! that looks nice and compact. I’m looking for a backbag that’ll take in something to eat, some clothing, laptop and probably something else too. Bicycle helmet can hang from strap when not riding. That Lowepro does look really cool though. 🙂

  3. Di says:

    The battery grip will solve all your hand-holding problems according to anyone I know who has done it. I’m lucky, I’ve got girly hands and was used to the size of the Canon because I had the film Rebel first.

    The flash sucks but I’ve been making do for now, surprised by the results actually. I’ve done a couple of indoor shoots and had no problems … the seperate flash is first on my ‘must-have’ list.

    Battery life is a pleasure. I have a 2GB and a 1GB card and 2 batteries. So far, no problems, even if I shoot 400 images, with 1/3 to 1/2 with flash.

    Sexy camera eh wot. Of course, I want more pixels now but I’ve had enlargements up to 30x40cms so far and am pleased with the sharpness 🙂

    Love love love my wee Canon.

  4. dobermann says:

    I am really excited about the camera, it was really good purchase!! I have even learned how to work with the flash, but the separate flash is also on top of my list. I have gotten used to the frame and and the grip is so good that the battery grip just fell to 4th on my list of new accessories. Now the list goes:
    – Flash, maybe the 430 model?
    – Camera bag
    – Extra battery
    – Battery handle (and yet extra batteries to have in pocket)
    – Extra CF card, most likely 2GB Extreme III SanDisk..
    – Lenses!

    I really lust a fish-eye, macro and a long tele. lol Sure, there’s gazillion cool things I’d like to have, but I just have to (try to) be realistic. The best thing is that most of the accessories will work with other EOS frames, like 5D, 20D, 30D and so on. 🙂 So if I need to and have the money to get new frame, I don’t necessary have to buy new lenses and flash and so on. 🙂

    I just fell in love again, Canon SLRs.. Ahh.. Well, I have heard lot good about Nikon D50 and D70, but it seems that I’m a Canon guy after all..

Leave a Reply

