No stress, but this really sucks

Today I woke up really early, walked the dogs and went to gym. I did my workout routine and when done, started it again. I spent over two hours in there since it really felt nice to sweat and torture my body with weights.. I got out and thought I’d get a shower at home, proof read and finish one assignment and then go to school to give the assignment to the professor. I even thought that I could then drive to Helsinki center to meet Venantius (from Flickr) who’s in Finland. Well planned and didn’t go like that after all.

When I was leaving the gym (it’s in one of the airport hotels near my home) and walking in the parking lot towards my car, this one guy comes about 100mph around the corner with his motorcycle. Long gory story short, he hit me right spot on.. Impact was hard enough to turn the drink bottle in my hand to a plastic missile filled with recovery drink. It was not found, at least not yet. I can imagine how horrible it must’ve looked like! I can remember seeing the reception lady’s facial expression while I was flying in the air. She lookied like all the hell was breaking loose!

To my luck I landed on the hotel-security car and not on the pavement.. No broken bones, few bruises and extremely PAINFULL BACK!! I should’ve seen that coming, the sore back I mean. 😉 I got to the airport medical center about 10min after the impact by hotel shuttle, it must’ve been bit funny looking too. The doctor did his examination in 30min and I was back in the hotel shuttle heading back to the hotel to get my car.

Now I have 3 weeks sick leave, enough pills to kill half of the people I know and pain in the back that would kill the other half. It would be fine if I would be working, but I CAN NOT skip three weeks of school!! I have all the presentations next week and exams week after that!

Oh, I didn’t pay a thing, the motorcycle dude paid and we made a report for insurance company. I even got free dinner for two from the hotel even though they had nothing to do with the accident. The motorcycle dude was really cool and even though he was acting like idiot speeding like that in parking lot, I don’t hate him. He did handle things really well. In fact, he knew axactly what to do, so I’m wondering if this was not the first time. He called the cops and since the hotel has recording video surveillance everything should be easy. If the motorist is this cool al the way, I’m not going to demand anything else but the medical bills covered. And that’s done by his insurance company. If he’s going to give shit or tries to get away with it, I’m going to sue his ass until it doesn’t bleed anymore!!

This was just the short story, to let you know generally what happened. All this took bit over 2 hours after I got out from the gym.. So, my 2 hour work out became 4 hour thriller. lol

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

4 Responses to No stress, but this really sucks

  1. ramblingmuse says:

    Wow. I’m glad you’re ok.

  2. Di says:

    I was so sad to read this … good luck with that back of yours, it’s the last thing you need.

    Good luck with the pain pills.

  3. dobermann says:

    I’m bit surprised I got away with just bruises and sore back. He was spinning his rear tire and on slide around the corner, so all the energy was not towards forward and me..

    I rally think that even though it was unfirtunate, it was kind of funny too. I know, I’m weird

  4. Di says:

    I got the giggles, through tears, when I broke my navicular bone …

    It’s like that sometimes, and at least your humour is kind of retrospective 😉

    It was less amusing when it became clear that a broken navicular bone is an impact injury, and yes, I shouldn’t have kicked that piece of furniture in a bad mood. That’s when it got amusing for hospital folk …

Leave a Reply

