We have the power?

Today, while watching tv and laying on the sofa, it hit me: my generation is finally in charge. MAybe not the most powerfull people, but those who can sell their ideas to the higher management and who have been given the ultimate marketing-group status: they’re children of an era, a whole generation as a group to seel no matter what social status or income. And how did I come to this conclusion? I just watched the commercials!

Now I’m talking about the “born in the 70’s” people. It’s long time line, but for most of us the stuff we had when we were kids is quite similar and so was the world. Now it’s the first wave of nostalgia for us. The 80’s is in again when you look at clothing. Of course it’s been adjusted a bit for this decade, but still it is in. Popular music has been getting inspirations from past decades, but there’s lot of 80’s sounds in the mainstream music, and lot of late 70’s stuff!It sounds familiar because the sounds, hooks and many little things are just like the stuff we heard on radio when we were kids.

That’s not the most obvious, not the thing that really indicates we’re being targetted. Music and clothing is for everyone by who ever. But movies! The about 30 old directors and writers are there doing their things. Of course they don’t make the final decicions, but they know how to sell their ideas and the about 30 old marketing guys back them up and then the about 30 old audience make them hits! And then there’s the younger audioence to whom it all is new and exciting! I’m talking about movies like “The X-Men”, “Dukes of Hazzard” and “Miami Vice”. Sure older and younger people read X-Men comics, but somehow I think it was more of a big thing for people of our age. I remember how talking about Wolverine or Storm was the common thing with all guys in the school yard, no matter if it was couple classes higher or lower guy. Dukes were more of an american thing, but I do remember that it was hot stuff. And the Miami Vice… Ahhh.. It was SO cool, and still is!! LOL I mean, if you get over the so 80’s music and clothes, it was rather good police series! And it really reflects the time. I never wanted to be Crockett or Tubbs nor did I want to hang with them. I would’ve wanted to live in that world, do well, live exciting life. The Miami it portraited was something else!

There’s lot of those things going on, but these were the most obvious in my mind. It’s cool and I can’t wait to see  Miami Vice – The Movie! 😉

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

