Dreams of a little boy

I’m back to work this thursday and it feels good which is bit strange! lol Anyway, I have done about two days worth of work and it’s not even noon yet! Well, I have mostly been working on things that were lest undone while I was sick and had the days off. Nothing big, but somehow the things are so easy to do and I don’t really care much about them. And what I mean by that is that the things do not annoy me at all.

I have let my mind just wonder around while I have been working and I got thinking about those small and big childhood dreams. Things we wanted to do, not the dreams where we are filthy rich and famous. For me those were dreams that were about vehicles, air, land and sea vehicles. I never really were into space shuttles in means of flying to space. They were cool in mechanical sense and I always thought how cool it would be to hook one of those rockets into a car. lol My dreams were also the kind of what other kids mostly didn’t care for. I didn’t necessary want to own these things, I just wanted to experience, feel them. So, next I will reveal couple of those childhood dreams.

The coolest supercar ever, for me, was (and kind of still is) the Lamborghini Countach 25th Anniversary model. When I was a kid it had to be black with red interior and definately with the wing. Yes, even though that the wing took few mph off the top speed. These days I prefer the wingless version. That car was something else! When ever I saw a picture of it in a magazine, I had to get that mag. I didn’t have posters of it, I didn’t want to have those posters because in a way I though they would degrade it. I felt that this piece of automobile history is worth more than some poster on the wall that would fade in time. I wanted to experience that car, I wanted to sit in it when a professional race-car driver took it to limits. I wanted to hear that exhaust note when the car accelerated. I wanted to feel the exhaust note when the car was standing still and on idle. I still want. I have seen the car live only once, when I was (I think) 26 and in Miami. I saw it drive a block down from me and still got the chills.. And I still would like to experience that car, if not drive, to be able to ride in with a pro-driver..

When I was a kid I got into the world of aviation because my dad was into planes and was avid RC-plane enthusiast. I did recognize a plane flying above me as long as I could see the shape of the body and wings.. But for me the ultimate flying machines were helicopters and especially AH-1 Cobra in all of it’s variations. It was the first modern attack chopper in my books. It looked so sleek, even compared to more modern choppers. It was something else. I haven’t seen one live, not even once, I have just seen it in tv and in movies. Still, I think it has it’s on specific sound, like the UH-1. When I was a kid I wanted to take a ride in AH-1 and to be honest, I still do. AH-64 would do too, but it wouldn’t be just the same.. AH-1 was my first helicopter love and it will have a special place in my heart..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

