Sad endings, indie and Tom Cruise

I haven’t watched too many movies lately, until this week. I went through the sale dvds in local supermarket and found few movies from there that I wanted. I’ve seen Anna and the King few times already, but thought I must get the dvd. I watched The Aviator last night and liked it. It had this nice fairytaleish feel and DiCaprio was right guy in the lead role. I also watched United States of Leland, a movie I had wanted to see for long time but never had the time. Now I bought it (like all the others) for 5€ from the sale bin, not bad and worth every cent. The US of Leland was good one, touching and didn’t have that “forced” happy ending that I hate about most Hollywood flicks.

I know that movies are not meant to duplicate real life, but there’s tons of movies that deserve the sad ending they were meant to have, but it had happy ending just because it sells and/or the studio desn’t want to upset the viewers. Come on. The Pledge has a great ending. It’s sad but still in a way has a glimpse of happiness in the ending. You know what I mean if you paid attention to the porcupine hanging from the rearview mirror. 😉 The Narc has good ending, Memento has good ending too. There’s lot of good movies, but they never get the maistream attention they might deserve. In a way thet is good thing, the underground and indie movies sometimes give a new direction to mainstream movies and the makers have more control over their work. Sure the big name film-makers have their say, but they have work to prove they’re right AND they have the energy to fight the machine to get what they want. I’m somewhat generalizing here..

I like smaller movies mostly because they have more to offer. Despite that I do like blockbusters and Hollywood flicks too. They’re great entertainment when I’m not looking for something new and have something to think. This doesn’t mean I’m going to see the MI:3 in theater, no. I will be waiting until it’s in sale bin for around 5€ or when I see it on TV. But it has something to do with the fact that I have lost my faith on Tom Cruise. When I finally started to appreciate his acting, he has become something weird..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

