My Grandfather and my ramblings

Oh joy of wednesday. Yesterday was my gradfather’s 88th birthday. He’s suffering from lung cancer, a man who has never smoked, the irony of life. Anyway, I was so busy and tired that when I finally got still it was too late to call him. I will do the congratulating today. I promise.

He is my father’s father and lives on the other side of the country, I think I have posted something about this earlier? Anyway, he is a character and I just love him also for the things he say. Like when asked how’s he doing he replies “Seems like a good day since I woke up in the morning” in a happy tone. In a way, in that age it is true. And when asked about his plans for tomorrow he says that “it’s so far in the future and today isn’t over yet” or “I’ll think about the rest if I wake up in the morning”.

He has had those lines ready for years and even though the cancer is eating a lot of his energy, he’s not going to let it down. He gave up driving last winter and the reason was that he probably will get there faster on foot and wouldn’t get lost like with the car. Thing is that he lives in relatively small city and the places he go are near his home.

Maybe my job thoughts have something to do with my gradfather. He was a teacher in small town in northern Finland for all of his adult life. Well, there was couple wars in there too, but other than that. He has said that even though he might have made more money and would’ve lived bit better in bigger place, he would’ve never had the experiences and ties with his students. In small town he knew every kid and what was going on with them. He was helping a family when someone was sick and so on. It was small community that was like one big family. The work itself gave so much more on top of just income. He has seen his students grow up.

It would be great to be part of something significant. Nothing big, just make a difference. I know that in a way it IS like that in any job, but I think I’m looking for something that has meaning for me. Something that I feel important. I have decided that even though if I will not do to big leap, I will do that as a second job, as a extended hobby.

Uh, I’m rambling again and do need to get back to work. In 10min I’ve got to go to one of these meaningless meetings that should not be held at all. To a meeting that is held only because someone decided that we need weekly meetings for all of the departments in the house. There’s nothing interesting there at all, no decicions will be made.

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

