Rambling about something

Everything seemed so easy as a teenager. Well, there were those teen problems, but then work worries and mortgages were something that didn’t bother at all. It was time to think about what to do when grown up, but even that was far away in future. That time of innocence when the future occupation was chosen by feel and assumptions rather than based on facts and accurate information. Even if there was informantion available and one understood it, the dreams and romantizized ideas took over easily. “How cool would it be to..” “It’s so cool, because you can..” were the main reasons why.

Now that I’m hitting 30 (in july) and I’ve been working for years, have been studying and am in middle of changing career, I don’t think like that anymore. Sure it would be nice to have cool job, but what counts more is the money they pay and that the job can be tolerated. It doesn’t need to be fun, just to be able to tolerate is enough. Sure it will change later to a job that pays moderately and where it would be nice, but I’m not there yet. 😉

There’s tons of jobs that are cool, but when I have been thinking about them, I’ve moved on after I have thought “how’s the market, how many hours and how much”. It’s the right thing to do, but along the way I have started to think that I shouldn’t have that in top of the criteria. I mean, when work is fun and worker motivated, the hours are fun and don’t bug and if it’s fun the bit smaller pay check is ok. I know, this is outrageus it’s coming out of my mounth/mind. I will have to do something about it.

But seriously, motivated and happy person can make the market to jack up the pay and maybe eventually lessen the hours. There are even people who do well and LIVE their work. when it’s up to that point, it’s way of life. And to get there you can’t work for someone else, you have to be selfemployed. Now there’s more things to concider. Even though it sounds like great idea, one has to really look into it and do lot of research before jumping to to that wagon. Sure you can learn on the fly, but it will be lot easier if you find out things before you really start getting busy.

I have been in that research phase for a while. I’ve been looking at options and how things work for some time. It all started as a “nice to know” but has built up to “I might be able to pull it through” mixture of excitement, enthusiasm and fear. I think those are the elements of success, but I’m not sure if I’ve got just the right mixture at the moment. And there’s lot of things to do.

Still, this little seed has grown to idea that hasn’t faded and gone away. In fact it keeps haunting me time to time, just to keep me on my toes. Somewhere deep inside I have this hopefull thought that maybe some day I do it. Hell, it’s better to try and fail than do nothing and wonder. 😉

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

