Un-greased cables and geography

Yesterday morning it was snowing, this morning it was snowing.. It doesn’t seem like spring to me at all.. Well, it’s getting above freezing point every day and some night’s it stays at zero, so it’s sign of something. It’ not unusual to get snow in easter, so there’s still time before it gets warm.

It’s almost the time to get my bicycle in and start doing spring maintenance. I did oil the chains and all in fall, but I was stupid enough and forgot to grease the cables. Well, I hope they’re still alive and if nto, it’s not expensive to replace them with new ones. I still hope I don’t need to replace them, because I’d rather take proper care than change parts. 😉

I didn’t do much cycling last summer, felt like I never really had time to go out with the bike. And it was crappy weather most of the summer, raining and I’m not fan of cycling in rain even though at times it’s refreshing. The refreshing part flies out of the window when it’s raining constantly.. But next summer I will get the time to go out cycling. It’s few miles to my mom’s place and what better way to go there than cycling? The route is beautifull, forest and along a river over half of the way. I can also cycle to the center of Helsinki and drive in forest most of the way. There’s only couple places where larger roads need to be crossed and it’s park for the last mile or so.

As you can see from this map, the city center is there on the bottom and the park and forest is the dark greenish line bit left from the center of the picture/map. If you scroll up a bit, you see the Helsinki/Vantaa airport there in the middle of the clouds. I live there a bit down from the airport and right from the lowest cloud in the picture, there right next to those fields and forest.

If you zoom in a bit of the lawst link to the map and/or move a tad down, you see the river. That is River Vantaa and on the north size of it is City of Vantaa and south is City of Helsinki.

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

