Measuring didn’t help

On monday we went to get a table from the Jumbo mall. There’s this one interior design ahop that sells new and old. This table was old, just to let you know. ūüėČ It is rather massive, but not that big after all. I had the measurements on paper and did some measuring of my cars trunk. It seemed bit tight, but I thought I could fit it on the back seat with some work.

Well, when it was time to put the desk/table in the trunk, I realized that it was way too big. I would fit inside, but the trunk opening wasn’t big enough! In fact, it was whole 4″ too narrow. Sure, the inside of the trunk was wide enough since I do not have spare tire in there, but the trunk opening. Shit. It was time to put it in the backseat. When I measured the reardoor opening and backseat, I didn’t remember that the table feet had these woods between them.. I couldn’t fit the damn thing in my car at all!!

After a thought or two, I decided to put it table-top facing front and legs facing back in the trunk, since when the trunk lid was open, it fitted just there between the lid and trunk opening. Well, didn’t fit, i needed to force the lid up about an inch, but it nicely clamped the table in place. The table itself is dark wood colored and I had tiedowns that are dark brown, so in darkening night you couldn’t see the tiedowns wrapped around the table from few feet away or farther.. So, people were watching and pointing us when we drove by. Fortunately it’s 5min drive from the mall to home and I drove as carefully as possible.

Unfortunately I didn’t take any photos of the table tied in at the time, but I was laughing too much about the whole thing. The table is at home, but haven’t found it’s place yet. It’s got two drawers and even though the first idea was to put it in the guestroom, it’s way too good looking to hide sometwhere. I think it finds it place in the hall or in the livingroom.

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

