And the ideas came from the west..

Oh joy and happiness. Last night I decided to start building my website yet again. This time I will be using web site engine or Content Management System, as they’re called in the “industry”. I have found couple that might work, but am leaning towards Joomla! or Mambo. Probably I’ll go for Joomla! since I have read more about it, even though they seem to be almost the same. Thanks for DailyDog for suggesting Joomla!. In fact, I had just discovered it when I read DailyDog’s email about it and got more interested in it. Hey, if someone suggests it, it must be worth something. ūüėČ

I’m also thinking about doing all my sites with it. It would be easier to have all sites built with same thing, updating and maintaining-wise. I’m also discovering the possibility to converting my old site layout and template to Joomla!. It seems to be possible and even relatively easy, just with Dreamweaver and an extension for it.

This is going to be interesting also because I haven’t really used Dreamweaver at all, just for couple small updates. I have done most of my web designing with Frontpage and the reason for that is simple: I have had Frontpage installed to my computer as default and it comes with the Office. I don’t like it much, but it was easy to learn since it’s like “Word for Web”. And even though there may be all the similar features in both of the programs, Dreamweaver surprised me with the ease of use when I did some goofing around with it last night.I will definately work with it from now on.

This new found joy of web developement has made me want better camera. My both digi-compacts are capable of taking nice pictures, but lack ability to manually set parameters is some what frustrating. The PowerShot is better for bit more serious photographing and the Pentax WP is small enough (and water proof) to have easily with me. I need a decent digi-SLR camera as soon as possible..

And that’s not all: I do have to start thinking about new stuff for the sites. I do have an idea for my personal site, but other sites need something more in them than just the same old stuff I had earlier. I have ideas, but I’m not sure if they would work because these ideas need active visitors to work out well. I will let you know when I’ve got things sorted out and if I need help, I will politely ask if anyone of you could contribute. But for now, It’s all ideas and I haven’teven started to work on them..

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

