Firewall tight as a dolphin’s.. ..

This is weird, interesting and annoying at the sametime. What? Well, the new IE security holes. They have not been patched yet and this has lead to the situation where our “company” network is bit tighter. This means that most of the active parts of websites are not working. I don’t mind, but since this stuff is blocked, many sites look somewhat weird having stuff missing. This also breaks the layout in many cases and sites are not readable any more.

At first I blamed the IT department since they were the ones blocking stuff, but then I though something else. I know that webmasters are not prepared to situation like this and most of the functional pages are just lucky rather than designed to work under this kind of conditions. Personal pages and some small businesses having problems like this is acceptable since they probably don’t have the resources to have their sites tweaked to the max, but I think larger companies should have web sites that would work no matter what, well almost.

Many large corporate sites detect plugins and settings (if cookies are enabled etc.) and adjust the layout/page to that so it shows everything just right. But now many sites don’t look that good. They are the sites that have all the cool animations and little thingies in there and other active modules on the page. Sometimes I even get blank pages after clicking a link on main page! I can tell you that my mobile phone, broadband and cable-tv plans stay just the way they are because I was unable to browse the service providers’ pages on my coffee break. I just thought I’d see what’s available and if there’s better deals for me. No there weren’t.. 😉 For some reason my OWN providers had working web sites, go figure. 😛

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

