Thinking and doing nothing

So, finally back at the office. I was away monday and tuesday, but there’s nothing new on my desk. That’s good since I’ve got enough to do already.

I spent last two days at home resting and just taking it easy. I didn’t even come up with anything to post on tuesday, so that’s a sign of low brain activity.. ..I was just doing nothing. And now I feel lot better than in friday. Yippee!!

Laying on couch and staying home for two days made me look our flat bit more than usually, you know just to REALLY see where we live in. And I was not happy with it.. I mean, it’s plain and dull place the most. The floor looks boring and there’s these dull ordinary looking furniture around. This has to do with the fact that at the moment there’s so many other things that eat the money than new couch, new tv or new what ever to home. And I don’t think there would even be time to do a home make over..

Anyway, I did some planning, just to entertain myself while doing nothing. I came up with new couch, it’s really cool one (and the price is just as high..), new tv (old 52″ projection-tv takes lot of space) and few other new things. Then the floor needed something new and after that pitchen cabinets needed make over and so on. I got the whole apartment done in yesterday afternoon in my mind. Yes, new bed and so on. Only the dining table and it’s chairs were spared along with the furniture in my “home office”. After doing the mind game I decided to check how much the whole thing would cost. Of course I would do all the work myself since there’s no need for pipe-work and plumbing and minimal need for electricity work, that I’m qualified to do anyway (yes, I am also qualified electrician..). The end price was about 45.000 Euros, total. It included all furniture, material, new tv, video projector and other home theater gear and paints and other stuff needed. It sounds like a big sum (and it is), but then the whole apartment would be done with new floor, new paint and new furniture. Plus the entertainment gear would cost 15grand alone..

I know I will not have that kind of money anytime soon, so I need to take baby steps: paint a room now, do the floor later and then do this and that here and there in course of time. I think that’s the way most people do it? But Am I going to live in this apartment long enough? Would I get everything finished just before I move to new place? How the stuff will fit in the new apartment or house?

However, it was fun to do the thingking, build the idea in my mind and come up with the plan and then find out how I could get it to happen and how much it would cost. Even though it’s something that’s not going to happen for real, I got lots of ideas during ther mind game and will most definately work with them and come up with some solution that is easy and affordable to get done.

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

