Transport strike and cheese on jalapenos

There has been this threat strike of the transportation workers in the air for few weeks. First time they were going to strike onsunday few weeks ago, but they continued the negotiations. At the moment it seems that on sunday afternoon they will go to strike and most of the transportation will stop. This means busses, delivery trucks and what ever else including possibly even docks. It’s bad enough that public transportation is off, but if the freight is stopped, it means that supermarkets will run out of fresh stuff pretty soon. Well, as long as I get my tomatoes, onions and salads to keep my tortilla driven diet available, I’m happy.

Greater Helsinki area is depending on it’s public transportation. Lot of people use busses, commuter trains, trams, metro/subway to get to work and back and also during their free time. Now that this public transportation system is not gonig to work because of the strike, all these people will get on the road with their cars and you can imagine what that will be like.

At this moment, I’m extremely happy I can walk to work and that the mall is so close to my home. I don’t need to get in the traffic and burn all my fuses and end up peeling skin off the body of some other road-raged driver in 10mile long line of cars standing still, using just my teeth. Not too appealing image?

I still hope they can get to agreement, even though it’s not probable at the moment.

After all I did not watch 24 last night. Since I saved the earlier episode for saturday night, it would be stupid to watch this one now. So, I will watch both of this weeks episodes on saturday night. And I need to come up with something to eat while I watch it. Yes, I have reached the point where I need some snacks while watching two episodes of 24 in a row.

I have been thinking about doing (yet again) few tortilla type of thingies. This time pork and beef, chopped tomatoes, some salad, creme fraiche, cheese salsa or cheese, salsa and those tortilla thingies, of course. It’s fast to do. Really, just prepare the meat on pan, put grill mix on it when there’s the most of the meat juice and let it settle and “dry”. This way you get the seasoning in the meat and it tastes great. Then I leave the meat on warm pan and go for the tortillas. I like to make them in oven since they’re bit crispier than from micro and they stay warm for longer.

Then I just put pork or beef on tortilla, add tomatoe, salad, salsa, cheese, creme fraiche and so on in there and wrap it. I like to wrap it close so I can eat by hand those that get cold and this way you don’t make such a mess while eating. I might need to also make nachos. Some chilli flavored tortilla chips, cheese and cheese salsa (plus maybe jalapenos iun the cheese) and in oven. When the cheese has melted, they’re ready, out of the over, some salsa dip and sourcream and onion dip on the side and you’ve got full stomach, good taste in mouth and yet another reason to run miles after miles to lose it again. But who cares, Jack and guys deserve the best!

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

