Finally got my desktop pc up and running again!

So, we moved in the end of march.. I got this one room just for my stuff and gadgets! Yippee!! 😉 I was so excited that I got my bookshelf up and filled, my desk there, set up two of my desktop pcs (linux web-server test bed that didn’t work in the end of the day or week or the month..) and my “left over” pc. Set up from the parts I have from my No.1 desktops upgrades from the past years.. I didn’t get my pride and joy PC up and running, but that was mainly because I needed to do some upgrading and new case (don’t ask about the old one) etc. I didn’t really need it since I have my laptop (and old laptop that didn’t like linux -> touch pad never worked) and use it my main email and surfing pc.

Anyway, the room turned into storage room during the time (4months..) since our basement storage space is filled with stuff. Finally last week I decided that I need to get the room cleaned and fixed. Yesterday I finally got to the point when I could set up the No.1 desktop and all the new gadgets! Oh joy! Got it done and I feel like a kid with new RC car. LOL Even though it’s still the same computer with just new case, display, speakers and soundcard, it feels like new computer. Now I got to the point where I decided I need a new, fresh install of Windows. Since I’ve “profiled” my each computer for one or two purposes, I need to get all the crap away from this one too.. It’s ok, but it’s going to be one hell of a job. You know the drill: install windows and drivers for your gadgets, then update Win with all the service packs and patches, then install all the softwarte you need and update them with all th epatches etc. …

It’s going to be bit easier this time since I’m going to use the No.1 desktop only for Photoshop and recording.. ..ok, I might play some Battlefield 1942 and Battlefield2 now and then, mut not that often after all. 😉 But still, installing all the plugins and little software one might need.

Oh, before someone asks here’s the set:

2700+ AMD
1,5Gig memory (3x 512Mb)
MSI KT6 motherboard
MSI geforce Ti 4600 graphics card (Radeor 9600 crashed all the time so I switched back)
2x 80Gb Maxtor ATA
2x 160Gb MAxtor SATA
LG cd-rw
LG dvd-rw
ProDige Mercury case (yes, PowerMac ripoff, but looks nice. 😉 )

E-MU 1820 soundcard
Creative MegaWorks THX 2.1 250D speakers (was a bargain)
Viewsonic VX912 (8ms, was another bargain)
MS wireless optical keyboard and mouse

Canon BJ i990 printer
Canon scanner (can’t remember the model..)

That’s the set. Of course all the web-cam, card reader, palm, etc. crap in addition all that.. I can’t wait to get recording again! I have to order bass guitar, bass processor, new midi keyboard and some cables etc. to get everything going on with my recording.. 😀

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

