My little hobby

I used to play guitar when I was teenager, but then I some how didn’t have the time or inspiration to pick up guitar. About year and a half ago I moved and came across my electric guitar and acoustic. For some reason I decided to haul my old electric guitar in my new apartment rather than hide it in basement. 😉

I realized that almost 10yrs in basement doesn’t do good to guitar. Strings were old anyway, but they were in rust. ..as were picups and all un-painted hardware.. 😦 Fortunately it seems that neck and body are still ok. I was just about to start renovating this Ibanez, but I decided I need to start playing immediately. I figured that if I start working on the guitar, I just get bored to it before I get to playing. It’s like I’ve had with couple cars: I get them working and looking good, but then I have spent so much time with it that I just got bored and need to get something new..

After this decision I went on and bought myself new guitar. I spent couple weeks doing research since there has happened so much in guitar world since mid ’90s. After price and specs comparison, I went for ESP. This because I’ve always thought they make quality instruments in reasonable price. ..and many of my favorite players use and abuse ESPs. 😉 Got myself ESP Viper LTD Lefty. Lefty since I’m lefhanded, obviously. I’ve been happy with it, feels
and plays good.

Of course I needed new amp etc. and I just had to go shopping again. Got myself Marshall combo and Toneworks FX board since it was on sale.. Later I also bought Line6 POD II with floorboard. I had heard so much good about it and there was one for sale in finnish equalent of ebay. Now I was ready to terrorize the house with my ax!! LOL

used to play in band and I’ve got few tunes and riffs in paper from those days. I decided to lcheck out if I can get anything done with them. Now I had to get some kind of recorder. I found Yamaha AW16G-CD on online auction and bought it since it was a bargain. Never really used, had the sample song still in etc. I fiddled with it for a while and decided I need to upgrade my
desktop PC to home recording studio.

Now I’m working on the PC studio idea. Because of my extremely tight budget, I’m going to start with one set up and then upgrade it as I have money. I have started to build this recording “set”, but I’ll let you know how it came up when I’m done. 🙂

D-Ma

About dobermann
Native Finn living in greater Helsinki area, currently in Vantaa. Still avoiding growing up, been somewhat succesful, thanks to my dogs. Passionate about music, hot rods & customs, dobermanns, motorcycles and everything I might foind interesting. I am just as boring in real life as I am in this blog. I do my best and have succeeded in it very well. Any other info, look from my posts or ask, thank you. D-Ma

Leave a Reply

